All EventsCommunity News

Free Books for your Children During the Summer

children's books

Come visit Book Harvest at 2501 University Drive in Durham and receive free books for your children ages birth to 18. Following safe, contactless protocols, teammates stand ready with bags filled with new and gently used books for children grouped by age (PreK; K-2; 3-5; middle; and high).

Free books are available Mondays and Wednesdays from 1-5 pm and Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9 am – 12 pm throughout the summer.  When you arrive, please remain in your car and call (252) 497-BOOK. A volunteer will answer your call, ask the ages of your children, and bring out bags of age-appropriate books to place in your car.

As part of their Rapid Response Summer Strategy, Book Harvest will be providing contactless Grab and Go book pickups throughout the summer in two ways: at Durham Public Schools meal sites and at their Rapid Response Center in Durham.

The schedule for Durham Public Schools meal sites is as follows:

Please note that books will not be available at Durham Public Schools meal sites in the case of rain.

Grab and Go Books will be available at their Rapid Response Center, located next to our headquarters at 2501 University Drive in Durham, beginning on July 1 and following the schedule below:

Wednesday, July 1, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Thursday, July 2, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Monday, July 6, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, July 7, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Wednesday, July 8, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Thursday, July 9,  9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Monday, July 13, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, July 14, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Wednesday, July 15, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Thursday, July 16, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Monday, July 20, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, July 21, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Wednesday, July 22, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Thursday, July 23, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Monday, July 27, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, July 28, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Wednesday, July 29, 1:00 – 5:00 pm
Thursday, July 30, 9:00 am – 12:00 noon

When you arrive, please remain in your car and call (252) 497-BOOK. A volunteer will answer your call, ask the ages of your children, and bring out bags of age-appropriate books to place in your car.

Book Harvest
facebook
twitter

Venga a Book Harvest al 2501 University Drive en Durham para recibir libros gratis para sus hijos de 0 a 18 años. Siguendo protocolos seguros y sin contacto, nuestro equipo está listo con bolsas llenas de libros nuevos y ligeramente usados clasificados por edades (pre-kínder; K-2; 3-5; escuela media; y secundaria). Los libros gratis están disponibles los lunes y miércoles de 1-5 pm y los martes y jueves de 9 am – 12 pm a lo largo del verano. Haga clic aquí para ver el horario: https://bookharvestnc.org/es/covid-19-updates/summer-books/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *